Peel Ply instructions

Expertise and know-how available for all builders from Class Members

Moderators: admin, Kevin

Peel Ply instructions

Postby slowpoke » Thu Apr 19, 2012 5:22 am

Guys, I've never used peel ply before, could someone give me a rundown on just how you use it? do you wet it out with the cloth? Doesn't it stick? Why not? Can you re-use it?
Thanks for the help,
Rocky
Rocky Shelton
Slowpoke, #288
Tijuana, Mexico
slowpoke

Re: Peel Ply instructions

Postby micah202 » Thu Apr 19, 2012 6:03 am

1..wet out the wood with epoxy resin where cloth is going to go
2..apply fillet material
3..lay peelply on worktable with f.g. cloth on top,,wet-out with roller
4 ..lift cloth and peelply together and apply to seam--the peelply will help prevent the f.g. cloth from distorting
5...use a roller to push the glass cloth into the filleting material,,which will nicely form a radius to the corner and fill voids
6...once the epoxy resin is fully cured,,the peel-ply will lift off the cured epoxy,,as long as the peelply is a nylon fabric.
7...discard the used peelply-it's now full of cured,hard resin.
i550 #240 ''carbon offset'',vancouver,BC,Canadah
......please be surre to user a resperarator ,espectially doing largger areasa of epoxy.
.....utherrwise,yerulll endap takling uhnd rithing rike ah do--NAHT GUD,ehnytime
micah202

Postby ryderp » Thu Apr 19, 2012 2:55 pm

I didn't do the peel-ply on the seams on my boat. The biggest single advantage of the peal ply is that you get a nice even surface with the glass fabric weave completely filled in, and a slightly rough texture that will easily accept paint or additional layers of epoxy. Another huge advantage of the peel-ply is that seams at the edges of overlapping glass cloth fill in and you get a very nice smooth transition between the two, which greatly cuts down on the need to fair those joints.