New boat in Western Australia.

Expertise and know-how available for all builders from Class Members

Moderators: admin, Kevin

New boat in Western Australia.

Postby Chris Lee » Wed Jul 30, 2014 1:53 am

Hi. Ben and I are building an i550 in Albany, Western Australia.
I have been a professional wooden boat builder for most of my life and Ben is a master of the racing fitout.
We had a look at the plans when they arrived and decided that the alterations we had planned for the deck meant that a full lofting would be a good idea. Our boat is open for the full length so the cockpit floor runs from the transom to the stem as do the seats or side decks [see photos]. This is to allow the use of a skiff type spinnaker chute and to save weight.
We also decided to build the boat in the normal way, ie. upside down starting with the bulkeads standing up and wrapping stringers and skin around them. Much more control over everything that way. Once the stringers were in we fitted the side deck so that we could fit some carbon struts from the chainplates to the compression post and also some tubes for through deck control lines [vang and cunningham only] before the sides went on. Then the bottom was glued on using steel that was lying around in the shop to keep it fair around the chine [see photo]
We have a web running full length of the boat on the centre line from the underside of the floor to the skin.
Ben did a lot of work on Autocad designing and drawing the new bulkheads and centre web for laser cutting. Top marks for him, it all went together perfectly!
The sides will go on this weekend.
Centreboard is made, hand shaped from Cedar with carbon uni. Rudder is a Cherub centreboard at this stage.
Rig is a carbon i14 mast and sails.
Cheers
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Chris Lee

Re: New boat in Western Australia.

Postby i550sailor@aol.com » Wed Jul 30, 2014 3:31 am